Eltham hill image 20

KS4 Curriculum

Preparing for Year 11 Booklet - 2021/2022

October - December 2021 Intervention Revision Timetable

Year 11 PPE Nov/Dec 2021 Assessment Timetable

In Key Stage 4 (Year 9, 10 and 11) all students follow a core curriculum of:

  • English Language and English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology, Art and Design (Students can opt to do Fine Art, Photography, Hospitality and Catering, Product Design, or Textiles)
  • PE Core (Students can opt to do BTEC PE, BTEC Dance, GCSE Dance, GCSE PE or Core PE)
  • Modern Foreign Languages (French, German and Spanish)

option choices, one from each block:

  • Business Studies
  • Computer Science
  • Drama
  • Geography
  • BTEC First Award – Health & Social Care
  • History
  • Media Studies
  • Music (BTEC)
  • Music (GCSE)
  • Psychology
  • Philosophy and Ethics
  • Sociology

Our key aim is to offer a balanced curriculum to all students which will support them in their future career aspirations and allow all students to be successful.

The aim of the learning pathway is to provide appropriate qualifications that suit student’s learning needs so that they achieve academic success


During key stage 4 students will study on one of three pathways:

 The EBacc Pathway

  • This pathway is designed for high prior attaining students.
  • It is designed to ensure students achieve the EBacc
  • It provides facilitating subjects that allow entrance to Russell Group Universities.
  • It ensures students study at least one creative subject

The Flexible Pathway

  • This pathway allows students to achieve the EBacc if they wish but also allows greater flexibility for students who want to study a broader range of subjects.
  • It ensures students study at least one creative subject

The Success Pathway

  • This pathway is directed towards students who will need greater support in achieving their GSCEs.
  • It allows students to study less subjects at GCSE but gain additional qualifications to prepare them for working life.
  • It provides greater vocational opportunities.
  • It is suitable for students who find examinations very challenging.

Students will be allocated a pathway based on:

  • GCSE predictions from Fischer Family Trust
  • GCSE predictions from other data
  • Performance in internal assessments
  • Progress Reviews, reports and attitude to learning

What are GCSEs, BTECs, and EBACC?

GCSEs: (General Certificate of Secondary Education)

These are the standard qualification taken by all 16-year-olds in the country. GCSEs are suitable for all abilities and are tested through examination and coursework. The grades awarded for GCSEs will be 1 – 9 for all GCSEs in 2018. 1 will be the lowest grading and 9 the highest. The Government have stated that 4 is the equivalent of a C grade.

Changes to the Grades Information relating to new Grading (9-1)

BTECs: (Business and Technical Education Council)

These are applied learning courses/work related qualifications that are available in a range of subjects. BTECs can be offered at 3 different levels. Level 2 is offered at this key stage at EHS. BTECs consist of coursework-based assignments, which are assessed by teachers in school. Under the new guidelines, at least 40% of the course will be externally assessed by exam. The tariff for BTECS has been reduced and they will now count for one GCSE each in a student’s score for Attainment and Progress 8. They are not grounding for ‘A’ level but are highly recommended for students wanting to pursue BTEC level 3 (equivalent to two A Levels).

EBaac: (English Baccalaureate)

The EBacc is awarded to students who score at least C grades in English, maths, two Sciences, history or geography and a modern foreign language at GCSE. There is no extra study or work to do outside of these GCSEs. The advantage of choosing to complete the courses leading to the EBaac is that it ensures students have followed a broad and balanced curriculum and will have a wide range of options available to them at Post 16.

Get Directions